Faculty members should remove users from their project or subscription once they are done working together. This is an important step in ensuring your data is secure and accessed only by those you authorize.
Deleting a User from a Project
Most of the time, a student will graduate and no longer need a CCR account. In this case, please remove the user from your project. To do this, login to Coldfront, click on your project, and click on the trash can icon next to the user you'd like to remove. CCR will get a notification of this request and we will deactivate the user's account.
Once you click on the trash can icon, a message will pop-up asking you to confirm that you'd like to remove the user from the project:
Once you click the Delete button, the user will be removed from your project view. CCR will receive notification that you'd like the account removed and we will deactivate it. Don't worry - this action isn't permanent. We do not delete user accounts until the student is gone from UB. If you decide you'd like to add the user back in the project or that you made a mistake, just contact CCR help.
Deleting a User from a Subscription Only
There are times when a faculty member has granted access to a user on a subscription for a private cluster or server. If you only want to remove the user from a subscription and not an entire project, click on the folder icon next to the subscription name. Scroll to the bottom of the subscription detail page to see the users that have access to that particular subscription.
Click on the circle with line icon next to the user's information to remove him/her from the subscription. Once you do this, a message will pop-up asking you to confirm that you'd like to remove the user from the subscription:
Once you click the Delete button, the user will be removed from your subscription detail view. You will notice they are still listed under your project view. CCR will receive notification that you'd like the account subscription information updated and we will take care of it. Sometimes this involves changing access to SLURM associations so a user can no longer run on a cluster and sometimes it involves changing group access so a user can't login to a private server anymore. We will notify you when the changes are complete. Don't worry - this action isn't permanent. If you decide you'd like to add the user back to the subscription or that you made a mistake, just contact CCR help.
NOTE: Please only remove a user from a subscription if you don't want their account deactivated. Students who are no longer at UB or collaborating with you, should be completely removed from your project(s) so that CCR knows to deactivate their account completely.