Note: Before sharing files through Globus, users should already know how to connect to an endpoint and browse their files. To learn more about this, please view this document.


Once you have connected to an endpoint on Globus, you can share your files with users or a group of users anywhere in the world. You can also decide if you want them to have the access to read or write shares, or in some cases both.  Let's see how it works:


Once you're connected to the endpoint (in this case ubuffalo#ccr), click on "Share" (towards the right command panel).




Under "Shares" tab, click on "Add a Shared Endpoint" to get started.



You will now be directed to provide information about which folder you want to share in the "Path" field, which you can browse and select. Also, you can provide any name to this share collection (in this case we went with Demo), and then click "Create Share". 


NOTE: Sharing is available for folders. Individual files can only be shared by sharing the folder that contains them. 




Once you have created the collection, you will be taken to the "Sharing" tab. Now, click on "Add Permissions - Share With" to share the folder with other users.


You will now be required to specify if you want to share the folder with one user, a group, or all users on Globus. In an instance where you want to share it with an user, you will be required to type in the user's name or email address in the "Username or Email" field.  Globus will display some matching results in the dropdown menu from which you can pick the right one. 


NOTE: If the user in question hasn't used Globus before or is a non-UB user, you can just put in their email address and click "Add."  The user will be notified through email and will be prompted to create a Globus account before they can access the file. For more information on this, please view this document.


You can also decide if you want the user to have the access to read or write the folder.  You might choose the 'read only,' for instance, if you want to share the results of a study with a colleague. On the other hand, if you're working on a joint project and want collaborators to add or update files, you will choose the the read and write options.  You are not able to remove the 'read' option as it's a requirement of sharing a folder with other users.




Once you have specified all this information, click on "Add Permission". This will share your folder with the specified user and they will receive an email shortly after with a link provided by Globus which will give them the access to the folder. 


Once you have successfully shared the folder with a user, you can view, edit, and change permissions to your shared folder from the "Sharing" tab. Here, you will be able to view the list of users you have granted permissions to. To add more users, you will repeat the step where you click on "Add Permissions - Share with", and provide with the user's email address or username. To update the read or write access, just check or uncheck the checkbox under "write" column. In order to remove a user, you would just click on the big "X" option corresponding to the user's name.


In an instance where you want to remove the shared collection completely, you would just click on the "Overview" tab, and then select "Delete endpoint". 


If you want to learn more about Globus, and for your further "How to" questions, please visit this page.